STATEMENTS ON A MATTER OF OFFICIAL RESPONSIBILITY

2.1 Senator P.F. Routier (Minister for Social Security) regarding the Employment Tribunal:

The Jersey Employment Tribunal currently consists of 14 Members, a Chairman, a Deputy Chairman, 6 Employee Side Members and 6 Employer Side Members, which is the maximum number of panel members that may be appointed. Initially the Tribunal appointments were approved by the States and offered on a staggered basis, varying between one and 5 years to ensure that the terms of all those appointed did not expire on the same day to provide continuity in the composition of the Tribunal. The Employment Tribunal (Jersey) Regulations 2005, provide that Tribunal members are appointed by the States initially, but if a member chooses to take a second and final term of their choice up to a maximum of 5 years he is entitled, as a right, to do so. This is in order to secure the tenure of persons appointed to offices in which their independence should be protected. Mr. William McPhee is a works convenor for Jersey Harbours and Chair of the Jersey District Committee of the TGWU (Transport and General Workers Union). His first term on the Tribunal is due to end on 30th June 2006, and he has requested an additional term of 5 years. I am grateful to Mr. McPhee for requesting a second term on the Tribunal and I would like to thank all the Employment Tribunal Members, the Chairman, the Deputy Chairman and the Secretary for their hard work and commitment during this crucial first year of the Employment Tribunal.